Browse Cases

Showing 1-1 of 1 results

Bangladeshis bring down Ershad regime, 1987-1990

Time period
23 June, 1987 to 5 December, 1990
Total points
10 out of 10 points
Name of researcher, and date dd/mm/yyyy
Rosanna Kim, 18/11/2012

After becoming independent from Pakistan in 1971, Bangladesh had a long history of military rule. Its first two leaders, Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and Ziaur Rahman were both assassinated in military coups and their regimes were followed by military dictatorships. The two main Bangladeshi political parties, the Awami League (AL) and the Bangladesh National Party (BNP) were formed by these two leaders and later led by their daughter and widow respectively – Hasina Wajed and Khaleda Zia. In 1982, General Hussain Muhammed Ershad seized power in Bangladesh during a bloodless coup.